I Find It Funny That It Looks Very Similar to the Sydney
- Forums
- Other Arachnopets
- Other Spiders & Arachnids
Alternative that looks like Sydney Funnel Web?
- Thread starter jenniferinny
- Start date
- #1
- Joined
- Jan 14, 2007
- Messages
- 174
And yes, I know the Sydney Funnel-web would be safe if it was in it's enclosure, BUT, since I've had to catch Ts that he left the door open on, eh, no thanks.
- #2
- Joined
- Nov 25, 2020
- Messages
- 825
It webs and has nice fangs.
But an atrax in the house... No!
- #3
- Joined
- Sep 14, 2013
- Messages
- 5,897
Macrothele sp and Linothele sp would be the easiest to get. Macrothele resemble them more as they're a little stockier and not as leggy as Linothele sp.My spouse wants a Sydney Funnel-web, I do not because he's not responsible enough with enclosures. Is there a species that looks pretty close that would be a bit safer to have around the house?And yes, I know the Sydney Funnel-web would be safe if it was in it's enclosure, BUT, since I've had to catch Ts that he left the door open on, eh, no thanks.
However given that you've said your partner isn't responsible enough with enclosures I suggest you tell them a straight no until they improve upon that aspect. At the end of the day you don't want ANY spider loose. For the sake of the spider as it'll probably die and yourselves as Macrothele sp can pack a punch.
- #4
- Joined
- Aug 8, 2005
- Messages
- 9,671
Info for your spouse.And yes, I know the Sydney Funnel-web would be safe if it was in it's enclosure,
When keeping any potentially lethal animal, the rule is a safety zone, essentially an enclosure within an enclosure or room within a room. Lacking that, a second person always present when the animal is accessed.
While these rules are not strictly adhered to, the vast majority, nearly all accidents and escapees occur when they aren't followed. In the event of an inexperienced keeper, they should be considered absolutely mandatory. In most if not all of Europe, such safety measures are required before a permit to keep the animal is issued.
Except for sparassids. Free ranging in the house is pure entertainment, plus training to look before you (might) squish.At the end of the day you don't want ANY spider loose.
- #5
- Joined
- Sep 14, 2013
- Messages
- 5,897
Well to be honest I didn't think I needed to elaborate what I meant by "At the end of the day you don't want ANY spider loose" but yes.Except for sparassids. Free ranging in the house is pure entertainment, plus training to look before you (might) squish.
- #6
- Joined
- Dec 29, 2012
- Messages
- 1,066
- #7
- Joined
- Jan 14, 2007
- Messages
- 174
Macrothele looks great! Thank you, looks so much alike he wouldn't be able to tell the difference. I'll probably go for one of those and tell him it's a Sydney funnel-web. I'll do an enclosure within an enclosure and lock it. I didn't want to deal with a Sydney funnel-web at all. But, I'll be the one who cares for the macrothele and I'll keep it locked. He's supposed to notify me before he messes with any of the T's so I can double check that everything is closed correctly. The worst I've had so far is a loose P. irminia which was zero amounts of fun. He's no longer allowed to feed or otherwise mess with anything but the tamer ground dwellers. He's not allowed to open ANY arboreal enclosures. I'm never doing that again.. lol. I have a jewelry cabinet that locks that I'm going to modify for more ventilation. Whenever I finally get psalmo's and pokes again they will be going into that locking cabinet same with the macrothele.Macrothele sp and Linothele sp would be the easiest to get. Macrothele resemble them more as they're a little stockier and not as leggy as Linothele sp.However given that you've said your partner isn't responsible enough with enclosures I suggest you tell them a straight no until they improve upon that aspect. At the end of the day you don't want ANY spider loose. For the sake of the spider as it'll probably die and yourselves as Macrothele sp can pack a punch.
My spouse is terrified of huntsman spiders. Kinda wonder why he wants a Sydney funnel-web if he wakes me up in the middle of the night to deal with a huntsman in the bathroom.Info for your spouse.
When keeping any potentially lethal animal, the rule is a safety zone, essentially an enclosure within an enclosure or room within a room. Lacking that, a second person always present when the animal is accessed.
While these rules are not strictly adhered to, the vast majority, nearly all accidents and escapees occur when they aren't followed. In the event of an inexperienced keeper, they should be considered absolutely mandatory. In most if not all of Europe, such safety measures are required before a permit to keep the animal is issued.Except for sparassids. Free ranging in the house is pure entertainment, plus training to look before you (might) squish.
- #8
- Joined
- Sep 14, 2013
- Messages
- 5,897
They can't climb smooth surfaces but WILL web up their entire enclosure so will be able to climb their webbing and reach the top. Venom isn't nice but not deadly but they are extremely defensive.Macrothele looks great! Thank you, looks so much alike he wouldn't be able to tell the difference. I'll probably go for one of those and tell him it's a Sydney funnel-web. I'll do an enclosure within an enclosure and lock it. I didn't want to deal with a Sydney funnel-web at all. But, I'll be the one who cares for the macrothele and I'll keep it locked. He's supposed to notify me before he messes with any of the T's so I can double check that everything is closed correctly. The worst I've had so far is a loose P. irminia which was zero amounts of fun. He's no longer allowed to feed or otherwise mess with anything but the tamer ground dwellers. He's not allowed to open ANY arboreal enclosures. I'm never doing that again.. lol. I have a jewelry cabinet that locks that I'm going to modify for more ventilation. Whenever I finally get psalmo's and pokes again they will be going into that locking cabinet same with the macrothele.
Macrothele calpeiana are usually easy to come by. I have 2.
Adult female with a morioworm
There are a few others that are usually available too that are all black.
Then you have Macrothele gigas. They're large spiders as adults but have red chelicerae so don't have the same look. Here's my female. Not full grown yet.
With a morioworm
- #9
- Joined
- Jan 14, 2007
- Messages
- 174
Macrothele calpeiana probably look the most similar to the Sydney though.
Would you consider them similar in personality to say an OBT?
I really didn't enjoy my OBT's at all, but, maybe if I go with a taller enclosure than necessary it won't feel so unnerving. Though, I feel like no matter how tall of an enclosure, the OBT would have filled it to the top. Do these guys stop building web at a certain height where if I went with a taller enclosure I'd have more room to deal with housekeeping without escape concerns?
- #10
- Joined
- Sep 14, 2013
- Messages
- 5,897
House keeping is easy with a pair of long tongs. Once they've got a hide they'll pretty much "defend" that area. So will go into a defensive posture under their webbing. It's only if you actively went after them they'd confront you directly if that makes sense. Like any defensive spider/tarantula they're not.lookinh for trouble.Well, that gigas is terrifying looking.. lol
Macrothele calpeiana probably look the most similar to the Sydney though.Would you consider them similar in personality to say an OBT?
I really didn't enjoy my OBT's at all, but, maybe if I go with a taller enclosure than necessary it won't feel so unnerving. Though, I feel like no matter how tall of an enclosure, the OBT would have filled it to the top. Do these guys stop building web at a certain height where if I went with a taller enclosure I'd have more room to deal with housekeeping without escape concerns?
Mine have all webbed up to the tops of their enclosures. They are really heavy webbers. I'm sure they will have a limit but I'd imagine in captivity unless you went daft they'd web it all up to the top. I have catch cups ready just in case whilst I'm feeding as it's better safe than sorry but they do know where their home/hide is and mine have always gone back to that with their food.
There was one time with a cricket my gigas had a bit of a run around after catching it but she was only searching for her web funnel entrance.
- #11
- Joined
- Aug 8, 2005
- Messages
- 9,671
Excuse me for being seriously confused here. Spouse is terrified, 1, wants and Atrax, 2, wakes someone else up, 3. 1+2+3=0My spouse is terrified of huntsman spiders. Kinda wonder why he wants a Sydney funnel-web if he wakes me up in the middle of the night to deal with a huntsman in the bathroom.
Honestly, the desire to own an Atrax seems to be psychological. Pardon the parallel but it seems similar to wanting to keep a vicious 'pit bull'. The health and well being of the animal is an incidental and not the focus of the possession. This would also apply to any proxy animal. Relying on someone else to care for the animal doesn't compute.
As far as Huntsman are concerned, allowing them to roam your house is proof positive a person has crossed the line from arachnophobe to natural history enthusiast in earnest. Much less of a hazard than having a stray bee or wasp in the house, it is along the lines of co-habiting with an insatiably curious, neurotic microminiature Cheetah.
Owning an animal for the sake of ownership. I was called by a neighbor to go check on a horse. When I arrived the sheriff were present. One glance at the horse I told the officers if they can't get a vet out to put it down in 10 minutes I'm going to get my rifle. One cop saved me the trouble and ammo, pulling his sidearm and putting the animal down. He then remarked to me he owned horses.
What I call a 'stable princess' simply had to have a blue blood horse of some make. It was all the rage. 6 months of neglect slowly turned into torture. She was cited.
- #12
- Joined
- Jan 14, 2007
- Messages
- 174
I think the huntsman are interesting. We're in Florida, so we get some nice large ones in the house. I don't like how they just randomly drop off the ceiling when they get spooked. I do catch them and put them outside because we have cats that like to eat them, so, for me it's more saving them from the cats. They also seem to starve in the house. The poor night geckos are always sneaking in too, I hate finding them all dehydrated.Excuse me for being seriously confused here. Spouse is terrified, 1, wants and Atrax, 2, wakes someone else up, 3. 1+2+3=0
Honestly, the desire to own an Atrax seems to be psychological. Pardon the parallel but it seems similar to wanting to keep a vicious 'pit bull'. The health and well being of the animal is an incidental and not the focus of the possession. This would also apply to any proxy animal. Relying on someone else to care for the animal doesn't compute.As far as Huntsman are concerned, allowing them to roam your house is proof positive a person has crossed the line from arachnophobe to natural history enthusiast in earnest. Much less of a hazard than having a stray bee or wasp in the house, it is along the lines of co-habiting with an insatiably curious, neurotic microminiature Cheetah.
Owning an animal for the sake of ownership. I was called by a neighbor to go check on a horse. When I arrived the sheriff were present. One glance at the horse I told the officers if they can't get a vet out to put it down in 10 minutes I'm going to get my rifle. One cop saved me the trouble and ammo, pulling his sidearm and putting the animal down. He then remarked to me he owned horses.
What I call a 'stable princess' simply had to have a blue blood horse of some make. It was all the rage. 6 months of neglect slowly turned into torture. She was cited.
But, yeah, my spouse likes to own a pet to brag he owns that kind of pet. It's annoying, but, I'm the primary caretaker here anyways. He wanted a Maine Coon, but, I'm the one who makes sure he gets his shots and flea control. He scoops the litterbox sometimes, but, I'm the feeder and litterbox scooper and chauffeur to the vet. That's actually why I was inquiring about a similar species, I know I'll end up being the actual caretaker and I don't want to deal with an Atrax. Our marriage isn't always the smoothest, so I figure there's a chance I'll be stuck with it and he'll be gone. My options are that I can either get ahead of it and pick something safer as a proxy OR be stuck with an Atrax that he has no business owning and that I have zero desire to deal with.
I'm probably not the best pet owner ever- but, I periodically foster kittens for the local animal shelter and get inspected because of that pretty routinely. I have dogs that go to the groomer every 8 weeks. My last dogs lived to ages 16, 16 and 18. I finally had my 17 year old cat put down last month. I have another 17 year old cat who is healthy as can be. But, I do dumb stuff like miss that my dog somehow knocked her tooth loose, the vet spotted it, but, I didn't. She's a pomeranian but she thinks she's a big dog and she really wanted a hoof last time she was at the pet store, so I let her grab one and that's probably how she loosened her tooth up.
I guess what I'm saying is that I'm not particularly excited about this kind of spider, but, the spider won't be able to tell the difference. Who knows, they might grow on me. I feel like if I go with a larger enclosure it'll be fine.
Yeah, you can see she's just scrambling for the entrance. That's not too bad, I used to stick my OBT's enclosure into a big aquarium for feeding so if he ran over the side I could just put the lid on the 40 gallon and wait for him to chill. I used to have a separate T room, which I really don't have right now, so, I'd probably have to do something like that as a precaution. Are those live plants in your enclosure? How often do you find you need to rehouse for cleanliness reasons? I hate when there's poop spatters everywhere, but, I know these webbing types get pretty annoyed by losing their webbing. Do you include any cleanup type insects in your enclosures? I haven't done that before, but, in the decade I haven't had T's, I got into planted aquariums a bit and would like to do my setups a bit more bioactive.House keeping is easy with a pair of long tongs. Once they've got a hide they'll pretty much "defend" that area. So will go into a defensive posture under their webbing. It's only if you actively went after them they'd confront you directly if that makes sense. Like any defensive spider/tarantula they're not.lookinh for trouble.Mine have all webbed up to the tops of their enclosures. They are really heavy webbers. I'm sure they will have a limit but I'd imagine in captivity unless you went daft they'd web it all up to the top. I have catch cups ready just in case whilst I'm feeding as it's better safe than sorry but they do know where their home/hide is and mine have always gone back to that with their food.
There was one time with a cricket my gigas had a bit of a run around after catching it but she was only searching for her web funnel entrance.
View attachment 386839
- #13
- Joined
- Aug 8, 2005
- Messages
- 9,671
Whenever I hear about somebody wanting to keep a hot and they don't sound up to snuff it spooks me. Another animal victim to human stupidity? Recalling when I got tagged by a rattler. I was an active firefighter, we were all trained, we knew the drill, knew where to get medical attention. So tag and I jumped on my motorcycle and was at the local hospital in 10 minutes. Darned lucky on all fronts. The pain was so severe I wasn't sure if I could even keep the bike upright another 5 minutes. The thought of an animal like Atrax where the ER staff goes 'HUH?' and anti-venom several thousand miles away... that never enters the mind of the 'looky at my new status symbol' crowd.
- #14
- Joined
- Sep 14, 2013
- Messages
- 5,897
No I don't use live plants. They're fake. Spiders/tarantulas almost never need rehousing for cleanliness reasons. If there's a severe mold/mite infestation sure but there's are rare if you remove any leftovers. They shouldn't be rehoused for trivial things.Yeah, you can see she's just scrambling for the entrance. That's not too bad, I used to stick my OBT's enclosure into a big aquarium for feeding so if he ran over the side I could just put the lid on the 40 gallon and wait for him to chill. I used to have a separate T room, which I really don't have right now, so, I'd probably have to do something like that as a precaution. Are those live plants in your enclosure? How often do you find you need to rehouse for cleanliness reasons? I hate when there's poop spatters everywhere, but, I know these webbing types get pretty annoyed by losing their webbing. Do you include any cleanup type insects in your enclosures? I haven't done that before, but, in the decade I haven't had T's, I got into planted aquariums a bit and would like to do my setups a bit more bioactive.
I do have springtails in some of my tarantula enclosures but don't for these. Although I certainly could.
- #15
- Joined
- Jan 7, 2018
- Messages
- 1,214
The biggest question though, is why go for the bland, mainstream Sydney FW's when theres the much larger, deadlier and cooler FW genus Hadronyche to long for instead???? Get your priorities right people!!
- #16
- Joined
- Jan 14, 2007
- Messages
- 174
Yeah, I have no desire to keep a hot species because it's a hot species. I mean, like I know all T's have some venom, but, that's a detractor for me. I'd rather have a T or spider with less significant venom- whatever the least significant venom I can get in a particular look or behavior. Having to explain to medical personnel that you own this really venomous spider 'because you think it's cool' and that's why they have to ship antivenom from Australia? Nah, no thanks.@jenniferinny Sounds like we are in similar boats, environment wise. I have no qualms locking up the cats occasionally to let the spiders roam safely.
Whenever I hear about somebody wanting to keep a hot and they don't sound up to snuff it spooks me. Another animal victim to human stupidity? Recalling when I got tagged by a rattler. I was an active firefighter, we were all trained, we knew the drill, knew where to get medical attention. So tag and I jumped on my motorcycle and was at the local hospital in 10 minutes. Darned lucky on all fronts. The pain was so severe I wasn't sure if I could even keep the bike upright another 5 minutes. The thought of an animal like Atrax where the ER staff goes 'HUH?' and anti-venom several thousand miles away... that never enters the mind of the 'looky at my new status symbol' crowd.
Good to know, I'd purchased most of my T's as spiderlings, so I always had an excuse to rehome them as they'd gotten bigger. But, they started hitting adulthood and I felt a bit lost about when to rehouse them since there was no longer any need due to their size. I might try springtails and isopods and see if they eat spider poop.No I don't use live plants. They're fake. Spiders/tarantulas almost never need rehousing for cleanliness reasons. If there's a severe mold/mite infestation sure but there's are rare if you remove any leftovers. They shouldn't be rehoused for trivial things.I do have springtails in some of my tarantula enclosures but don't for these. Although I certainly could.
Hmm.. I hope they really are unattainable. That would be a pretty big relief.It's physically impossible for you to even acquire a Sydney FW outside of Australia unless it's a black market illegal export. If you were to label a Linothele for example as A.robustus, other keepers that they may share photos of it with will immediately pick that up and break the news.The biggest question though, is why go for the bland, mainstream Sydney FW's when theres the much larger, deadlier and cooler FW genus Hadronyche to long for instead???? Get your priorities right people!!
- #17
- Joined
- Sep 14, 2013
- Messages
- 5,897
I follow a page on insta called Austin Arachnids. He has loads of spiders including Hadronyche sp. Absolute stunners.It's physically impossible for you to even acquire a Sydney FW outside of Australia unless it's a black market illegal export. If you were to label a Linothele for example as A.robustus, other keepers that they may share photos of it with will immediately pick that up and break the news.The biggest question though, is why go for the bland, mainstream Sydney FW's when theres the much larger, deadlier and cooler FW genus Hadronyche to long for instead???? Get your priorities right people!!
- #18
- Joined
- Jan 7, 2018
- Messages
- 1,214
I'm good mates with Austin, he lives less than 2 hours away and we've swapped spiders. I mostly deal with Idiopids and Anamids, whereas Atracids, Hexathelids and Barychelids are his field of expertiseI follow a page on insta called Austin Arachnids. He has loads of spiders including Hadronyche sp. Absolute stunners.
- #19
- Joined
- Apr 13, 2020
- Messages
- 25
- #20
- Joined
- Jan 7, 2018
- Messages
- 1,214
There's like 15+ other keepers I know of between usImagine leaving near another arachnid keeper amirite
- Forums
- Other Arachnopets
- Other Spiders & Arachnids
- Hello there, why not take a few seconds to register on our forums and become part of the community? Just click here.
- This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
Source: https://arachnoboards.com/threads/alternative-that-looks-like-sydney-funnel-web.346171/
0 Response to "I Find It Funny That It Looks Very Similar to the Sydney"
Enregistrer un commentaire